Anacortes Fire Department, c. 1934, located at 1107 5th Street, on south side of 5th Street between O Avenue (southwest corner) and N Avenue. The men are posed in front of the fire hall and are installing a monument. Pictured, left to right: Bert Verrall (Asst. Chief), Milo Strock, Fireman, Chief Les E. Snyder, the remainder of the men were all volunteer firemen: Thor Berlin, Ashley Mondhan, Kenneth "Kay" Asseln, George "Ole" Olson, William "Bill" Beale, Lou Willoughby (water superintendent). Leonord Moore and Margaret Deane Moore on their wedding day, being pulled in the cart with an umbrella.
The Anacortes Fire Department also housed the police station, jail and Anacortes City Hall. . They are standing in front of the hose cart purchased by the department in 1907. This hose cart has been restored and stands as of April 2003 in front of Anacortes Fire Station Two, located at the corner of Anaco Beach Road and Oakes Avenue. The 1924 American LaFrance pumper truck is visible in the left bay of the fire hall; identification was provided by Chuck Tidrington. The Anacortes Fire Department got its start soon after the city was platted in January 1890. On January 25, 1890, the ANACORTES PROGRESS stated, "Now is the time for everyone to start thinking about organizing a good fire department," evidence that from the very first Anacortes thought about fire prevention. This fire hall was built soon afterward on the south side of 5th Street (1107 5th Street) in 1892. The 4-7-1892 ANACORTES AMERICAN reported, "Firemen move into their new fire hall quarters which are in city hall." The Fire Department remained in this building until 1953, when it moved to 12th Street between Commercial and O. See also WF 0002, 0152, 1833.
Disaster - Fire
Transportation - Land
|Credit line||Donated by Donald Strock|
MOORE, Margaret DEANE
Anacortes City Hall
Anacortes Fire Hall
Anacortes Fire Department
1107 5th Street
|Object Name||Print, Photographic|